[ X ]
Debian Package
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
beedee
Level: 76



Position: Registered User
Joined: 06 Sep 2010
Posts: 94
Kel: 95  [ Donate ]

Online Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:06 am    Post subject: Debian Package Reply with quote

A binary package usable on all debian based systems (including Ubuntu) has finally been released.

Download it here: http://open-ra.org/releases/linux/download.php

Thanks to Iran for doing most of the hard parts for me.

Still to come for linux packages:
  • Better changelog integration
  • Freedesktop compliant menu entries/desktop icons
  • Man pages
Back to top
View user's profile Find all posts by beedee Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Iran
Level: 76


Position: Registered User
Joined: 08 Sep 2010
Posts: 92
Kel: 104  [ Donate ]

Online Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 12:16 pm  Reply with quote

Nice! One problem is that the bold part in the description needs to be smaller (only a few words). 'apt-cache search openra' shows:

Code:
maikel@computer-maikel:~$ apt-cache search openra
libopenraw-dev - free implementation for RAW decoding - development files
libopenraw1 - free implementation for RAW decoding
libopenraw1-dbg - debugging symbols for libopenraw
libopenrawgnome-dev - GNOME integration for libopenraw - development files
libopenrawgnome1 - free implementation for RAW decoding (GNOME integration)
libopenrawgnome1-dbg - debugging symbols for libopenrawgnome
rasmol-doc - Documentation for rasmol
openra - A multiplayer reimplementation of the Command & Conquer: Red Alert game engine in .NET/Mono, OpenGL, OpenAL and SDL. Has extensive modding support and includes Command & Conquer as an official mod.


The length of the description is quite unusually long. What problems are you having with the menu entries and desktop icons?
Back to top
View user's profile Find all posts by Iran Send private message Send e-mail ICQ Number
beedee
Level: 76



Position: Registered User
Joined: 06 Sep 2010
Posts: 94
Kel: 95  [ Donate ]

Online Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:07 pm  Reply with quote

I was just using the description provided in the control file of the .deb you made. I'll fix it with the next release.

I'm not having a problem with the menu entries and the like, I just wanted to get the debian package working and distributed before moving on to that since I want it in all the linux packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Find all posts by beedee Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Iran
Level: 76


Position: Registered User
Joined: 08 Sep 2010
Posts: 92
Kel: 104  [ Donate ]

Online Status: Offline
PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:26 pm  Reply with quote

Ah, nice to know. Yeah, I saw the problem only after testing apt-cache on the file. Worried Sorry about that.
Back to top
View user's profile Find all posts by Iran Send private message Send e-mail ICQ Number
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Page 1 of 1